Skip to content

Magical Things

January 29, 2017
Words make you think. Music makes you feel. A song makes you feel a thought.   – Yip Harburg

Movie musicals are magical things. Sinewy powerful magical things.

Through space. Through color. Bodies in motion. Bodies filled with emotions.

It sneaks up on us.

These ineluctable rhythms of our universe.

Very haunting things.

(inspired by Yip Harburg)

LaLa Land

http://video.anyclip.com/movies/singin-in-the-rain/gotta-dance/

nice_manicule

 

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Norman Bloom permalink

    So interesting Ray. As I may have mentioned over the years, I grew up in the world of musicals, mostly because my god mother was a producer/agent/bringer together of talent, etc., working with some of the major players. Her husband, as well, a producer. Because of all this, I saw lots of shows and I must say was never really a fan. Umbrellas of Cherbourg, years later, killed the genre off. However, as I have aged, I have been able to be a bit more discerning, discriminating and not so freaking judgmental. What you posted I loved, especially concerning the political subtext that those serious lefties were dealing with. I Googled Yip and found out much that I had no idea about. Just saw 20th Century Women and the wild dancing scenes still resonate with me. Hope springs eternal…I hope.

    On Sun, Jan 29, 2017 at 7:35 AM, f/stop Fitzgerald wrote:

    > Ray/Man posted: “Words make you think. Music makes you feel. A song makes > you feel a thought. – Yip Harburg Movie musicals are magical things. > Sinewy powerful magical things. Through space. Through color. Bodies in > motion. Bodies filled with emotions. It sneaks up on us” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

