Skip to content

Pedro Radio

April 9, 2017

As I watched Pedro Almodóvar’s Julieta I found myself listening very attentively to the film. Delivered sotto voce, the dialogue lends the film a heightened feeling of intimacy, taking the viewer more immediately into the confidences of its characters.

It reminds me of how Orson Welle’s soundtracks so innovatively complemented his films in their visuals and in how they were edited.

Julieta seems to mark a new chapter in Almodóvar’s filmmaking, less frantic, the storytelling told with a cinematic clarity.

Visually and thematically Almodóvar’s films suggest the work of filmmakers he stylistically admires: Alfred Hitchcock, Douglas Sirk, perhaps Federico Fellini.

I feel the presence of Fellini in Julieta though I’m unable to put my finger on it. Though Fellinis’ film Juliet of the Spirits shares the name Juliet, the two seem diametric opposites.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YH5_4osOZK8

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Norman Bloom permalink

    I have not seen the film but your take sounds interesting. Fellini’s film I have always loved.

    Spring oh wonderful Spring!!!

    On Sun, Apr 9, 2017 at 6:50 AM, f/stop Fitzgerald wrote:

    > Ray/Man posted: “As I watched Pedro Almodóvar’s Julieta I found myself > listening very attentively to the film. Delivered sotto voce, the dialogue > lends the film a heightened feeling of intimacy, taking the viewer more > immediately into the confidences of its characters. It” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

